A visual conversation: Day 8

Spring is in full bloom here in Vancouver…so I thought I’d have a “retrospective” visual conversation highlighting “flowers” I’ve done, beginning with my most recent, of which I had no initial intention of creating as flowers…they just seemed to appear!!

Dsc04577

(In Essence, 24×18, Acrylic on canvas, 2012)


Photo_2

(Spring is here, 24×24, Acrylic on canvas, 2010)


Dsc05637

 (Colorful Still, 48×24, Cheese cloth, handmade paper and acrylic on canvas, 2009)


Dsc06632

(Awakening, 30×40, Acrylic on canvas, 2009)


Morison_sara_-_dark_and_dreamy

(Dark and Dreamy, 36×36, Acrylic on canvas, 2009)


Morison_sara_-_gills_tulips

(Gill’s tulips, 20×16, Acrylic on canvas, 2008)


I thought I’d also include some of my early influences “in the floral department”…

Bobbie Burgers of Vancouver, Canada whose use of color will always captivate my senses.

Picture_5

 

Nicolas de Stael of Russia, an abstract painter who used shape and a palette knife to create moving pieces.

Picture_4

(Nicolas de Stael, Fleurs gris)

 

Henry Huai Xu of China’s work caught my eye a few years ago because of his simple palette knife work, a touch in the right place is all that was necessary.

Picture_6

(Henry Huai Xu, Tangerine and Gold, 12×9, Oil on canvas)

 

It’s so invigorating to take a pause, to smell the roses, to reflect on the past and enjoy the day.

Leave a Reply

