Laguna beach art scene: Open space!

At_a_crossroads_8x8

(At a crossroads, 8×8 acrylic)

I just got back from a week in Laguna Beach, California…what a great artist colony, filled with sun, heat, blue ocean and skies, and loads of Art!

My holiday was nestled perfectly in time between a busy winter of painting and an upcoming week-long intensive workshop in Nanaimo with one of my mentor’s Steven Aimone (hence the appropriately titled work above, which will be showing at U8 in Kelowna April 5-15).

U8sopa

Apart from relaxing with family and friends and reading a great book about a young struggling artist in Paris (Hunting and Gathering by Anna Gavalda, 2004), I spent a few days walking the gallery strip and stumbling upon some wonderful artists’ work.

The JoAnne Artman Gallery was exhibiting beautiful work by America Martin.

Picture_1

In the Sue Greenwood Fine Art gallery I found a number of artists whose work I really loved.

Picture_2

This is an example of Amber Goerge’s luscious encausetic work.

Picture_3

Maurice Gray’s mixed media work was mesmerizing. I especially loved a little 3-D house he’d done.

At Salt Fine Art I discovered Panamanian artist Olga Sinclair’s colorful mixed media works

Picture_4

and Mexican-born LA artist Victor Hugo Zayas’ oils and sculptures.

Picture_5

The Laguna Art Museum was also having a retrospective of Zayas’ paintings and gun-metal sculptures and an interesting exhibit of Postwar Era From the Collection 1945-1980.

Last but not least, I ventured up the Pacific Coast Highway to Newport Beach to visit The Orange County Museum, which just happened to be showing one of my favorite American painters Richard Diebenkorn‘s Ocean Park Series. What a thrill to see his huge canvasses up close!

Picture_6

I love his wide open spaces, his layers and underlayers, his philosophy of trial and error, process, and discovery, and am in awe of his versatility as a figurative and abstract artist.

This trip has put me in a great position for my workshop…open to new ideas, new discoveries and space on the canvas!

Stay-tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

