My love of Red

Dsc03323

Red is the color of the month.

It represents love and passion. For me the connections to red are endless as Valentine’s Day is so close to my birthday. Every year my mother made me a heart-shaped cake. It’s been my favorite color for a long time. I wear red lipstick everyday and my wedding cape come-Vancouver-winter-wear is crimson. My hair is auburn.

I love the vibrancy of pyrrole red, the warmth of cadmium, the coolness of rose-red and the joy of orange red …they have all made their way into my art work as captured in the medley of paintings I “released” last year!

I love Henri Matisse’s Red Studio,

Picture_2

Richard Diebenkorn’s Small Red abstract

Picture_4

and Seated Woman in red,

Picture_3

and Robert Rauschenberg’s abstract collage.

Picture_6

Happy Valentine’s Day to all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

