Inspiration for figures

_always_on_my_mind_48x36

Last week I was chatting with a friend who asked me where I get my inspiration from for my abstracts. How do I come up with some of the works I produce? A question which might be bewilderment or awe!

I do paint from my gut, with colors and textures I enjoy and just let the work unfold through intuition until satisfaction and balance are created. However I am definitely inspired by other artists and so thought I’d share with you a few of the works which, maybe subliminally, guided me in some way for the piece above called Always on my Mind (48×36).

I discovered Jylian Gustlin’s work a few years ago and love her colors and abstract figures.

Picture_9

Suzanne Northcott was a teacher of mine and continues to inspire with her figurative work and philosophy. Here she is with one of her works during a workshop in Whistler.

Picture_19

Below is one of Riyadh Hashim‘s paintings which I am fortunate enough to have hanging in my dining room, a surprise gift from my husband! I particularly love the boldness of his colors and the incompleteness of the work which invites the viewer to engage and enjoy the journey of discovery.

Picture_3a

Where do you get your inspiration?

 

Leave a Reply

